Sigma Theta Tau


Tau Iota Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau

The Tau Iota Chapter of Sigma is also known as the Honor Society for Nursing. This group recognizes excellence through the publication of its members’ activities in newsletters, presentation of awards for leadership, clinical excellence and mentoring and graduate student and faculty research awards for scholarly activities. The honor society hosts several events throughout the year, including induction ceremonies each term, a business meeting and an annual research day.


Our Purpose

The Tau Iota Chapter of Sigma was started in 2004 to:

  • Recognize superior achievement
  • Recognize the development of leadership qualities
  • Foster high professional standards
  • Encourage creative work
  • Strengthen commitment to the ideals and purposes of the profession

For more information about the Honor Society, visit the Sigma website. To learn more about the Goldfarb School of Nursing at Barnes-Jewish College Tau Iota Honor Society chapter, visit the chapter's page.


Membership in Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing is by eligibility and endorsement and is based on the candidate’s academic and professional achievement.

Candidates join in one of two ways: in their educational programs (BSN and/or MSN) or as a nurse leader in the community.

Membership in the honor society is life-long, however, to be considered an active member, annual dues must be paid. Honor cords are supplied by the Tau Iota chapter for new inductees.


Eligibility criteria for BSN nursing students include:

  • 3.0 minimum GPA
  • Be in the top 35% of the class at start of their last term

Eligibility criteria for graduate students include:

  • 3.50 minimum GPA
  • Have completed at least one-quarter of the curriculum.


A Note on Nurse Leaders

Students in graduate programs who are registered nurses, legally recognized to practice in their country and have a minimum of a baccalaureate degree or the equivalent in any field, shall be eligible to be considered as a nurse leader at any point in the program.

Nurse Leaders are those with a minimum of a baccalaureate degree who have demonstrated marked achievement in nursing education, practice, research, administration or publication.

Current Chapter Officers

President Dr. Teri Boyd
Vice-President / Web Designer / Social Media Dr. Teresa Hamra
Treasurer Ms. Julie Berendzen
Secretary Ms. Aja Sullivan
Governance Chair / Faculty Counselor Dr. Lihua Yu
Faculty Counselor Dr. Xiumei Lin
Eligibility Counselor Ms. Jaina Best
Leadership Succession Chair Dr. Chris Guelbert
Leadership Succession Committee Dr. Jim Harris and Ms. Marsha Schulte
Delegates Dr. Judy Frain and Dr. Tamara Otey

Apply to Sigma Theta Tau

To apply, review the Membership Criteria. Fill out and submit your Membership Intent Form along with two Endorsements for Membership Forms.