Introducing The 2023 Fall DAISY Nominees!

Sep. 14, 2023 By: khadijahhenderson

<span>Introducing The 2023 Fall DAISY Nominees! </span>

Congratulations to this year's nominees for the DAISY Award® for Extraordinary Nursing Faculty! 

Caring for others is an art, and teaching others to care is a masterpiece. The DAISY Award® for Extraordinary Nursing Faculty celebrates those who inspire both art and masterpieces in the hearts of our future nurses.

The DAISY Award® for Extraordinary Nursing Faculty recognizes faculty members who go beyond simply teaching students. They exhibit grace, compassion and an unwavering commitment to education — they model what it means to be an exceptional nurse. 

Over the past few years, nursing and nursing faculty have been on the frontlines of the COVID-19 pandemic. Our nominees demonstrated resilience and creativity as they adapted to virtual classrooms and navigated a precarious time, as instructors and individuals. This Award is a token of appreciation for their efforts in nurturing, inspiring, and supporting Goldfarb students.

The DAISY Foundation began in 1999 when J. Patrick Barnes passed away after a battle with an auto-immune disease. To thank nurses like those who had cared for him, his family established the foundation and The DAISY Award, which recognizes nurses throughout the country. The DAISY Award® for Extraordinary Faculty was introduced in 2010.

The DAISY Faculty Award celebrates the contributions faculty members make to teaching the next generation of nurses.

Please join us in congratulating this year's nominees. The winner will be announced at the Homecoming Celebration on September 29, 2023. The honoree will receive a certificate, a DAISY Award pin, and A Healer's Touch statue, hand-carved by artists of Zimbabwe's Shona Tribe. 

Register for Homecoming here:


The 2023 DAISY Award® for Extraordinary Nursing Faculty nominees are:

Dusty Scheper, BSN, RN 

● Lynn Baer, MSN, RN

● William DeClue, DNP-FNP-BC, MHA

● Amber Nordike, DNP, MSN-Ed, RN

● Sarah Perez, DNP, CRNA

● Erin Walsh, DNP, RNC-MNN

● Erin Arcipowski PhD, RN, TNS

● Jessica LaRose, MSN, RN 

● Jules Crawford, DNP, MSN, RN

● Lihua Yu, DNP, MSN, RN

● Sara Kimmel, MSN, RN

● Kathleen Torres, MSN, RNC-MNN

● Sarah Decker, APRN, FNP-C, RN


Learn more about Dusty Scheper, BSN, RN, recipient of the 2022 DAISY Award® for Extraordinary Nursing Faculty!