Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

Sigma - Tau Iota Chapter

The Tau Iota Chapter of Sigma was started in 2004, to:

  1. Recognize superior achievement;
  2. Recognize the development of leadership qualities;
  3. Foster high professional standards;
  4. Encourage creative work; and
  5. Strengthen commitment to the ideals and purposes of the profession

The Honor Society for Nursing recognizes excellence through publication of its members’ activities in newsletters, presentation of awards for leadership, clinical excellence and mentoring, and Graduate Student and Faculty Research Awards for scholarly activities. The Honor Society hosts several events throughout the year, including induction ceremonies each term, a business meeting and an annual research day.

For more information about the Honor Society, visit the Sigma website. To learn more about the Goldfarb School of Nursing at Barnes-Jewish College Tau Iota Honor Society chapter, visit the chapter's page


Membership in Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing is by eligibility and endorsement, and is based on the candidate’s academic and professional achievement.  Candidates join in one of two ways; in their educational programs (BSN and/or MSN) or as a Nurse Leader in the community.

Eligibility criteria for BSN nursing students include having a 3.0 minimum GPA and be in the top 35% of the class at start of their last term. Graduate students* (MSN) are eligible for membership when they have a 3.5 GPA and have completed at least one quarter of the curriculum. *Students in graduate programs who are registered nurses, legally recognized to practice in their country and have a minimum of a baccalaureate degree or the equivalent in any field, shall be eligible to be considered as a Nurse Leader at any point in the program. 

Nurse Leaders are those with a minimum of a baccalaureate degree who have demonstrated marked achievement in nursing education, practice, research, administration or publication.

Membership in the Honor Society is life-long, however to be considered an active member, annual dues must be paid.  Honor cords are supplied by the Tau Iota chapter for new inductees.

Application Forms

To apply, review the Membership Criteria. Fill out and submit your Membership Intent Form, along with two Endorsement for Membership Forms.

Current Tau Iota Chapter Officers

PRESIDENT: Dr. Pam Newland
PRESIDENT-ELECT: Dr. Catherine Kush
VICE-PRESIDENT: Dr. Barbara Whitaker
TREASURER: Ms. Janneke Zandberg
SECRETARY: Ms. Sara Kimmel
COUNSELOR: Ms. Maria Turner
COUNSELOR: Ms. Jaina Best
DELEGATES: Dr. Judy Frain and Dr. Deborah Birk

Get Social

Like the Tau Iota Chapter on Facebook.

Follow the Tau Iota Chapter on Twitter.

Follow the Tau Iota Chapter on Instagram


Alumni, Stay in touch!

Update your information, tell us what you have been up to and share your accomplishments.
General Information: 314.454.7055
4483 Duncan Avenue
St. Louis, Missouri 63110
© Copyright 2019. All Rights Reserved.