Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

The DAISY Faculty Award - Nominations Are In!

The DAISY Faculty Award - Nominations Are In!

Posted on 1 Sep 2022 by Khadijah

Congratulations to this year's nominees for the DAISY Award® for Extraordinary Nursing Faculty! 


"Goldfarb is thrilled to partner with the DAISY Foundation to recognize the special faculty members who prepare our nursing workforce and inspire our students to ensure both the art and science of nursing are brought to every patient experience," says Mayola Rowser, Ph.D., DNP, FNP-BC, PMHNP, Jack Taylor Dean and Professor at Goldfarb. 


The DAISY Award® for Extraordinary Nursing Faculty recognizes faculty members who go beyond simply teaching students. They exhibit grace, compassion and an unwavering commitment to education — they model what it means to be an exceptional nurse. 


Over the past few years, nursing and nursing faculty have been on the frontlines of the COVID-19 pandemic. Our nominees demonstrated resilience and creativity as they adapted to virtual classrooms and navigated a precarious time, as instructors and individuals. This Award is a token of appreciation for their efforts in nurturing, inspiring and supporting Goldfarb students.


The DAISY Foundation began in 1999 when J. Patrick Barnes passed away after a battle with an auto-immune disease. To thank nurses like those who had cared for him, his family established the foundation and The DAISY Award, which recognizes nurses throughout the country. The DAISY Award® for Extraordinary Faculty was introduced in 2010.


"The DAISY Faculty Award celebrates the contributions faculty members make to teaching our next generation of nurses," Rowser says. 


Please join us in congratulating this year's nominees. The winner will be announced at the Homecoming Celebration on September 23, 2022. The honoree will receive a certificate, a DAISY Award pin, and A Healer's Touch statue, hand-carved by artists of Zimbabwe's Shona Tribe. 


Register for Homecoming here:

The 2022 DAISY Award® for Extraordinary Nursing Faculty nominees are:


● Dusty Scheper, BSN, RN

● Judy Smith, PHD, RN, GCNS-BC

● Tamara Otey, PHD, RN

● Christopher Guelbert, DNP, MHA, RN

● Erin Walsh, DNP, RNC-MNN

● Lynn Baer, MSN, RN

● Emily Myers

● Bridgette Cotton, DNP, MSN, RN

● Kathleen Torres, MSN, RNC-MNN

● Sarah Decker

● Nicole Healey, MSN, RN, CEN

● John Powers, DNP, RN, CPNP-AC

● Holly King

● Shannon Shoup, MSN, BSN, RN, CNEn

● Angie Painter, MSN, RN

● Karlie Lading, MSN, RN

● Lori Meier, MSN, RN

● William DeClue, DNP-FNP-BC, MHA

● Lee Jerls, MSN, RN

● Susan Holt

● Julia Williams

● Rebecca Claxton, DNP, RN

● Teresa Hamra, ED.D., RN

● Julie Clark, DNP, MSN, RN

● Katie Jett, DNP, MSN, FNP-BC, RN


The DAISY Award is just one of many of our faculty’s impressive accomplishments! Learn more about Sara Kimmel, MSN, RN, recipient of the 2022 St. Louis Magazine Excellence in Nursing Award.

Comments (0)Number of views (798)

Leave a comment

This form collects your name, email, IP address and content so that we can keep track of the comments placed on the website. For more info check our Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use where you will get more info on where, how and why we store your data.
Add comment



Recent Posts

Follow Blog via Email

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Alumni, Stay in touch!

Update your information, tell us what you have been up to and share your accomplishments.
General Information: 314.454.7055
4483 Duncan Avenue
St. Louis, Missouri 63110
© Copyright 2023. All Rights Reserved.